Affordable Housing in Auckland

Affordable Housing in Auckland

A panel discussion with NZIER’s Shamubeel Eaqub, Deputy Mayor Penny Hulse, MP Alfred Ngaro and Auckland Property Investors Association’s David Whitburn.

Shamubeel Eaqub

Principal Economist – NZIER

Shamubeel Eaqub is the principal economist at NZIER, a private economic consultancy firm. He advises senior leaders in the private and public sectors. Expert knowledge and evidence based contrarian views make him a valuable advisor. Shamubeel is active on Twitter as @Seaqub

Penny Hulse

Councillor, Auckland Council

Councillor Penny Hulse represents the Waitakere ward on the Auckland Council and is Chair of the Environment and Community Committee.


She brings 25 years of local government experience to the role having first been elected to the Waitakere Community Board in 1992 before being elected Chair of the Board in 1994.

In 1995 she was elected as a Waitakere City Councillor and as a Trustee of the Waitakere Licensing Trust.

Since then she has served as Chair on a range of committees including the Healthy City Committee, Environmental Management, City Development, Community and Public Health Committee. She was Deputy Mayor to Sir Bob Harvey from 2007 until 2016.

She has been instrumental in helping build the West, and understands the area and people. Penny has strong links with her community and cares passionately about the Auckland region. She served two terms on the Waitemata District Health Board, is currently a Director of West Auckland Trust Services and an elected member of the Waitakere Licensing Trusts. .


Her community involvement includes Patron of Waitakere Special Olympics, Community Waitakere Charitable Trust, Henderson Riding for the Disabled, The Trust Waitakere Brass Band, Northern Football Association, Trustee of Swanson Railway Station Trust, Waitakere Anti Violence Essential Services  and former Director of EECA Board.

Penny’s special areas of interest are Climate Change, Sustainable City Development, Environmental Advocacy, Community Development and Youth Empowerment.


Penny is a keen cyclist and has been commuting to the CBD from Te Atatu peninsula by electric bike since the opening of the Nelson Street Cycleway in December 2015.

Alfred Ngaro

List MP for Te Atatu – National Party

MP Alfred Ngaro helped co-pioneer and support a number of local community initiatives to address issues of education (Tamaki Pathway Achievement), health (ADHB; HVAZ), and social concern. He was also was one of the founding members of a National collaborative called the Inspiring Communities Exchange Network, which focused on Community- Led- Development and was sponsored by the Tindall Foundation. In 2009, Alfred was awarded with the Sir Peter Blake Emerging Leader Award for his contribution to the community. Alfred considers it a privilege to serve our Pacific communities in Parliament.

David Whitburn

Board member – Auckland Property Investors’ Association

David Whitburn is a professional property investor, author, business owner and board member of the Auckland Property Investors’ Association. David believes Auckland's rental market needs to perform in a way that it has not done previously – that is, provide secure, long-term, quality rental housing on a much larger scale than in the past.

Carlos Chambers

Governance Team – Generation Zero

Carlos Chambers is a member of and spokesperson for Generation Zero. Generation Zero is an organisation of young New Zealanders working to cut carbon pollution through smarter transport, liveable cities and independence from fossil fuels. He is active on Twitter via @nzcach.

Event Sponsors

Be the first to know about upcoming Auckland Conversations

Auckland Partner

Design Partner

Programme Supporters